Hometown Maps

Coming up with a map of my hometown was a bit tricky. I’m from the small rural community of Boomer, but I went to school in Wilkes County, and most of the time when I left the house I went somewhere in Wilkes County. In my first map I tried to represent my house and a very condensed version of the route I took to get to certain places.

hometown 1_1

The second map is a more detailed representation of my house and the area immediately around it. This includes my house, my grandparents’ house, and three neighbors that I never knew that well. In a way, Wilkes County was my hometown just as much as Boomer because I went to school and met all of my friends there.

hometown 2_1

This is a Google Maps image of the general area I was trying to represent in the first illustration. The road my house is located on is slightly cut off of the rest of the image, but Wilkesboro and Moravian Falls, which are the general “town” areas I drove to the most often, are visible.

hometown

Leave a comment